03. February 2018 Fred Randver

Congratulations new champions!

Congratulations new champions!

Yesterday the Estonian Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships ended with finals, and just as in the previous season, CC Tallinn teams, led by skip Marie Turmann and Harri Lill, won the titles. Both teams also represented Estonia at the 2017 European Championships.

A total of 4 teams participated in the Women’s Championship (Turmann, Mölder, Peebo, and Link), which is definitely a positive development. As repeatedly emphasized, competition is only a driving force. Team Mölder (skip Maile Mölder) won the round robin, winning also twice 6: 3 and 8: 3 Team Turmann in an intriguing match-up at the Championships. But Turmann won the most important game, the final, 7: 5. On their way to the final Turmann also had to win in the semi-final Team Peebo 10: 2. Last years (2017) final was best of 9 series between Team Turmann and Team Mölder and Team Turmann came on top with wins 5:4. This year Mölder succeeded in winning 2 games but lost in the final. In total, during 2017 and 2018, these teams have played 12 games and the score is 6:6, but Turmann has been able to turn the most decisive games to its advantage: 9th final game last year and this year’s finals. In any case, it is positive that there are two very strong teams in Estonia who, in different years, 2016 and 2017, brought bronze medals in ECC B group to Estonia. The presence of two strong teams will also allow others to develop. As the championship showed, in the last game Team Peebo won Mölder 7:6.

2018 Estonian Women’s Championship Ranking:

  1. Turmann
  2. Mölder
  3. Peebo
  4. Link

Congratulations to the winners: Heili Grossmann, Erika Tuvike, Victoria-Laura Lõhmus, Kerli Laidsalu, skip Marie Turmann and coach Nicole Strausak.

In the Estonian Men’s Curling Championship also 4 teams took part (H.Lill, Vlassov, E.Lill, and Tubalkain). Losing a single game in the Championships Harri Lill’s team won the contest. The final against Vlassov (who won in the semi-final E. Lill 8:7) ended up with the score of 8: 5. The round-robin games between two finalists ended 9:4 and 7:1 to Harri Lill.

2018 Estonian Men’s Championship Ranking:

  1. H. Lill
  2. Vlassov
  3. E. Lill
  4. Tubalkain

Congratulations to the winners: Tarvin Kaldvee, Tanel Toomväli, Ingar Mäesalu, Karl Kukner, skip Harri Lill and coach Kaarel Holm.

CC Tallinn congratulates all the participants who contributed to the 2018 Estonian Championships and wish you every success for the future.